Wednesday 7th December

Book2book Home Book Trade News Trade Announcements Bestseller Lists About

Press Release: Prizes and Awards
Costa Book Awards 2011 Category Winners Announced

Posted at 8:20PM Tuesday 03 Jan 2012

Costa Coffee today announces the Costa Book Awards 2011 winners in the Novel, First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book categories.

The Costa Book Awards recognise some of the most outstanding and enjoyable books of the last year by writers based in the UK and Ireland.

Originally established in 1971 by Whitbread PLC, Costa announced its takeover of the sponsorship of the UK's popular and prestigious book prize in 2006. 2011 marks the 40th year of the Book Awards.

The five successful authors who will now compete for the 2011 Costa Book of the Year are:

· Poet and debut biographer Matthew Hollis, who beats Claire Tomalin's bestselling Dickens to take the Costa Biography Award for his first work of prose, Now All Roads Leads to France: The Last Years of Edward Thomas

· Andrew Miller who triumphs over Julian Barnes, winner of the 2011 Man Booker Prize, to take the Costa Novel Award with his sixth novel, Pure

· Debut novelist and former Great Ormond Street nurse, Christie Watson, who wins the Costa First Novel Award for Tiny Sunbirds Far Away, set in the Niger Delta

· Carol Ann Duffy who wins the Costa Poetry Award for The Bees, her first collection since being appointed Poet Laureate in 2009

· Former opera singer and debut children's writer, Moira Young, who wins the Costa Children's Book Award for Blood Red Road, currently being adapted for film by Scott Free, Ridley Scott's production company

"The Costa Book Awards have an excellent track record of recognising and celebrating some of the very best current British writing, and books that can be enjoyed by everyone," said John Derkach, Managing Director, Costa. "We're very proud to be announcing such a terrific collection of books which we know people will enjoy reading."

The five Costa Book Award winners, each of whom will receive £5,000, were selected from 568 entries. The five books are now eligible for the ultimate prize - the 2011 Costa Book of the Year.

The winner, selected by a panel of judges chaired by Editor of the London Evening Standard, Geordie Greig and comprising Hugh Dennis, Dervla Kirwan, Mary Nightingale, William Fiennes, Flora Fraser, Patrick Gale, Jojo Moyes and Eleanor Updale, will be announced at an awards ceremony hosted by presenter and broadcaster Penny Smith at Quaglino's in central London on Tuesday 24th January 2012.

Since the introduction of the Book of the Year award in 1985, it has been won nine times by a novel, four times by a first novel, five times by a biography, seven times by a collection of poetry and once by a children's book. The 2010 Costa Book of the Year was Of Mutability by Jo Shapcott.

For additional information go to

Full details of the Category Award Winners follow.

Search the news archive:

More Book Trade Announcements

Account Sign-In

Most Popular Stories

  1. Blue Peter's Janet Ellis Nominated For Bad Sex In Fiction Award
  2. Alex Wheatle Wins 2016 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize
  3. Costa Book Awards: Three Previous Winners Nominated For Best Novel
  4. British Bookshops Prep for 'Civilized' Weekend
  5. Sebastian Mallaby wins 2016 FT business book award
  6. Own It! Snaps Up Rights To Debut Novel By Exciting New British Voice Jj Bola
  7. This Vending Machine Prints Short Stories For French Commuters
  8. Pottermore Expects Return To Profit After Posting Narrowed Annual Loss
  9. Dublin Literary Award Longlist Announced
  10. Chair of BAME prize slams UK publishers after lack of submissions