Friday 9th December

Book2book Home Book Trade News Trade Announcements Bestseller Lists About

Press Release: Prizes and Awards
The Kim Scott Walwyn Prize 2013, Now Accepting Submissions

Posted at 10:24AM Monday 17 Dec 2012

Booktrust is delighted to call for submissions for the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize 2013, the national award recognising women's outstanding potential and previous achievements in their publishing careers.

'A prize that marks out women of potential is of vital importance in enabling young women's careers'

- Clare Alexander

Former winner, and partner at Aitken Alexander Associates

'As well as giving me a huge boost in confidence, being shortlisted for the award helped me to gain recognition with colleagues and others in the industry'

- Lucy Cuthew

Former shortlisted candidate and freelance children's editor

The Prize is named in honour of Kim Scott Walwyn, a Publishing Director at Oxford University Press who died in 2002. She was widely regarded as a dynamic and exceptional publisher within her lifetime and served as a mentor to several people entering the industry. In keeping with her commitment to young publishers, the Prize Committee partnered with the Society of Young Publishers (SYP) and the Publishing Training Centre (PTC) in 2011 to strengthen the Prize's dedication to recognising promise among women in the industry. Booktrust has managed the Prize since its inception in 2003.

The Prize is open to any woman who has worked in publishing in the UK for up to seven years. Applicants must nominate themselves and supply two referees. Submissions are now open, with the deadline for all entries of Monday 18 February 2013.

Past winners and shortlisted candidates include women from publicity to rights, from editors to literary agents. Lynette Owen (OBE), Copyright Director of Pearson Education was the inaugural winner and Kathy Rooney, Managing Director of Bloomsbury Publishing, Annette Thomas, CEO of Macmillan, Penelope Hoare, Deputy Managing Director at Chatto & Windus, (although now semi-retired), Kay Peddle, Editor, The Bodley Head and Rukhsana Yasmin, Commissioning Editor, Westbourne Press have followed. Shortlisted applicants are of the highest calibre and have included Eleanor Crawforth Editor/Sales and Marketing Manager, Carcanet Press, Bethan Jones Publicity Director Harvill Secker / Yellow Jersey Press and Donna Condon, who has recently been announced as the new Editorial Director of Harlequin.

The winner will be announced at ceremony at the Free Word Centre in Central London on Wednesday 15 May 2013 and will receive £1000, sponsored by the SYP, and a two-day training course of their choice at the PTC. Shortlisted candidates will also receive a one-day training course courtesy of the PTC.

Please note that shortlisted candidates and the winner must be available for any media opportunities from April to June 2013.

Entry forms, Terms & Conditions and Entry Guidelines are available from the Booktrust website.

For more information about the Prize and press enquiries, please contact:

Notes to Editors

Kim Scott Walwyn Prize

Founded in 2003, the Prize honours the life and career of Kim Scott Walwyn, a Publishing Director at Oxford University Press who died in 2002, and celebrates exceptional female publishers. It has been awarded seven times. In 2011, the Prize committee and Booktrust – which has managed the Prize since its inception – partnered with the Society of Young Publishers and the Publishing Training Centre in order to recognise not only achievement but also promise amongst women in the industry. Accordingly, the Prize is now open to any woman has worked in publishing in the UK for up to seven years.

The Prize Advisory Committee is:

Professor Dame Gillian Beer DBE, FBA, FRSL, (King Edward VII Professor Emeritus, University of Cambridge), Catherine Clarke (Literary Agent and Managing Director, Felicity Bryan Agency), Nicola Crossley (SYP Vice-Chair 2010 and Editorial Assistant,Trade Non Fiction, Orion Books), Denise Johnstone-Burt (Publisher, Walker Books), Kate Jury (Garden and Landscape Designer, Oxford Garden Partners; formerly a Marketing Director, Oxford University Press), Hermione Lee CBE (writer, English Literature Professor and President, Wolfson College Oxford), Fiona Maddocks (Chief Music Critic, the Observer) and Francine Stock (novelist and broadcaster).


Booktrust is an independent reading and writing charity that makes an impact on individuals, families and communities, and the nation's culture. We are responsible for a number of successful national reading promotions, book prizes and creative reading projects aimed at encouraging readers to discover and enjoy books. These include the Women's Prize for Fiction, the Children's Laureate and Bookstart, the national programme that works through locally based organisations to give a free pack of books to babies and toddlers, with guidance materials for parents and carers.

Society of Young Publishers

Established in 1949, the Society of Young Publishers is open to anyone in publishing or a related trade – or who is hoping to be soon. The SYP was originally for under-35s, but it is now open to anyone and caters especially for those with fewer than ten years' publishing experience. Run by a team of dedicated volunteers, our aim is to help assist, inform and enthuse anyone trying to break into the industry or progress within it.

The Publishing Training Centre

The Publishing Training Centre is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to providing learning and training for publishers and other related industries. We have been training publishing staff for more than 30 years and have represented the interests of the publishing industry on various industry bodies, including Skillset. We are now in an era defined by unprecedented digital challenges, and PTC is not afraid to lead the way, encouraging the acquisition of new skills through our ever growing range of digital training programmes.

Search the news archive:

More Book Trade Announcements

Account Sign-In

Most Popular Stories

  1. Blue Peter's Janet Ellis Nominated For Bad Sex In Fiction Award
  2. Alex Wheatle Wins 2016 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize
  3. Costa Book Awards: Three Previous Winners Nominated For Best Novel
  4. British Bookshops Prep for 'Civilized' Weekend
  5. Sebastian Mallaby wins 2016 FT business book award
  6. This Vending Machine Prints Short Stories For French Commuters
  7. Own It! Snaps Up Rights To Debut Novel By Exciting New British Voice Jj Bola
  8. Pottermore Expects Return To Profit After Posting Narrowed Annual Loss
  9. Dublin Literary Award Longlist Announced
  10. Chair of BAME prize slams UK publishers after lack of submissions